I started having contractions last night around 8pm. For about 3 hours they were 20 minutes apart. Then they went to around 10 minutes apart. By 8 am this morning I decided to call my doctor and see if they could check me. They told me to come on in. So Bradley and I went with my hospital bag (just in case) to the doc. Doctor checked me- AND STILL NOT DIALATED! I mean seriously- what the heck were those contractions for? She said I am having contractions, they are just not dialating my cervix. She "helped me out" a little bit and then we did a u-sound to measure fluid. That was good and normal. Then had a nonstress test for baby. That was good and little girl's heart rate is fine. She's not in distress.
I was supposed to have an appt. tomorrow- but they did everything today. I go back Friday again for the same round of tests. I am officially scheduled to be induced on Monday, May 5th. If on Friday nothing has changed, they will admit me Sunday and induce then.
Un-freaking-believable!!!!
Tuesday, April 29, 2008
Sunday, April 27, 2008
Walking is not working!
Everyone is telling me to walk- "you need to walk to get that baby out." So yesterday it was an absolutely beautiful day and I said to Bradley that I wanted to go walking somewhere. I suggested we go have lunch at this great pizza place near State's campus and then walk around campus or walk Hillsboro Street. So we ate some good lunch, but Bradley didn't want to walk there. He suggested Umstead Park. I was game. As we're driving over there we stopped to look at some houses our friend just finished and walked that neighborhood. By now it's like 3:00 and 88 degrees. It was VERY hot! At least for an overdue pregnant woman! I was sweating and huffin and puffin and said to Bradley, I cannot walk Umstead park. So we drove over to Crabtree and walked the mall instead! Afterward we stopped at Cold Stone and I had the best Mango smoothie! YUMMY~!
All of that to say...... little girl STILL didn't try and make her presence yesterday!
All of that to say...... little girl STILL didn't try and make her presence yesterday!
Saturday, April 26, 2008
Come and Gone
Well Emma Grace missed her due date :) Her lease was up yesterday (as my brother states it). Guess she's going to have to pay extra rent....
I noticed I wrote on Apr. 20th that waiting was so hard. Hmf! 6 days later- it's even better :) The anticipation of could this be the hour? Could this be the day? The night? It's overwhelming.
Maybe today will be the day........
I noticed I wrote on Apr. 20th that waiting was so hard. Hmf! 6 days later- it's even better :) The anticipation of could this be the hour? Could this be the day? The night? It's overwhelming.
Maybe today will be the day........
Sunday, April 20, 2008
Waiting is so hard
I honestly don't know which is harder....... Waiting 2 1/2 years to get pregnant or Waiting for this little girl to come!!!!!! I mean obviously, looking back it was harder and required more patience waiting on the Lord to give us this child... b/c I wasn't sure it would ever happen. I know she's coming out sooner than later.... but it's so hard WAITING! I mean, it's consuming me, "will this be the day?" "Will this be the hour?" AAAH!!!! Good thing I'm not working, b/c it's all I can think about and that would not be fair to my clients!
Last night I was having some pains, some crampy feelings, and I was like, oh? this might be the start of something. Nope- all went away. This morning feeling normal and Emma Grace is awake, but obviously content to be in there.
Last night I was having some pains, some crampy feelings, and I was like, oh? this might be the start of something. Nope- all went away. This morning feeling normal and Emma Grace is awake, but obviously content to be in there.
Saturday, April 19, 2008
Oh my word
I NEVER thought I'd get to this point...... Less than a week until my due date! 6 Days in fact! WILL SHE EVER GET HERE???!!!
Wednesday, April 16, 2008
Not time yet....

Today I had my 39 week appt. Little girl has not decided to make any progress on coming out and meeting us! I asked the doctor if he could do anything to help me out. He said sure, I can do such and such if your cervix is opened a little. Oh but no- it wasn't- not even a little!!!! So he says, I'll see ya next week :) Good grief!!! :) Patience Sarah- I have to keep telling myself this. I'M SO READY TO MEET HER! Doesn't she know her room is ready for her now? ha ha~
Friday, April 11, 2008
Naughty Dog
Yesterday, I came home for a bit between clients purposely to let Zeus out b/c he'd been home for about 5 hours. These days, he's not used to being home that long by himself. So I felt bad and came home to let him out. We went outside and I threw the ball for him and he took off into the woods. I called for him, he didn't come back. So I said, forget it, he'll come back when he's ready. I went inside. Fifteen minutes later he's still not back. So I had to get the leash and go find him.
As I'm walking to the cul de sac behind my house, which is a pretty good walk, and calling for him, out he comes from the woods..... COVERED from head to toe in black mud!!!!! I almost killed him. Literally. I wanted to beat the life out of him. I had to spray him down. It's pretty difficult hosing a dog off when you're about to pop and can't bend over. Needless to say, I'm sure my bp was elevated :)
Naughty dog.....
As I'm walking to the cul de sac behind my house, which is a pretty good walk, and calling for him, out he comes from the woods..... COVERED from head to toe in black mud!!!!! I almost killed him. Literally. I wanted to beat the life out of him. I had to spray him down. It's pretty difficult hosing a dog off when you're about to pop and can't bend over. Needless to say, I'm sure my bp was elevated :)
Naughty dog.....
Wednesday, April 9, 2008
38 weeks


My doc. appt. went well. AND... lo and behold- the doctor helped me sit up from the table! Go figure- then I realized- I had a male doctor today- the FEMALE doctors are the ones that don't help! What's up with that?! Must be a feminist thing. I have the male doc. again next week- so I'm doing some personal research now. Wonder if he'll help me then too?
Anyway- appt. went well. Baby's healthy, I'm apparently still healthy (just fat) but healthy. :) Next week's appt. is the 16th, but I won't be making that appt. b/c Emma Grace is making her appearance on the 15th! :)
Tuesday, April 8, 2008
Sunday, April 6, 2008
Saturday, April 5, 2008
QUIT GAWKING!!!
Seriously, I'm getting tired of the staring. I told Bradley today that I might stay in the house until I have this baby! HAVE PEOPLE NEVER SEEN A PREGNANT GIRL BEFORE? I understand that I'm short, and I agree I look like I swallowed an oversized basketball...but do we have to GAWK? Last night we're at the Hurricane's game, and some chic says to her husband as I walk by, oh my god, did you see that lady's belly? Then today, we're at Moe's and there is a table consisting of an older couple and probably their adult children. They weren't even trying to be inconspicuous... they were full on STARING. ALL FOUR OF THEM! Bradley says to me, I'm going to start asking what people are looking at. I know I'm not exaggerating this, b/c even my husband recognizes it!
Friday, April 4, 2008
Praise God!
Just an update on Tricia Her double lung transplant surgery so far has been successful. She made it through the surgery, Praise Jesus! And now is on the road to recovery. Her husband even posted on his blog that they had her walking?!!! Amazing- the transplant is equivalent to getting in a severe car accident and they have her walking already? Amazing...
Please continue to pray for Tricia's recovery and for Nate (her husband) as he watches and waits.
Please continue to pray for Tricia's recovery and for Nate (her husband) as he watches and waits.
Wednesday, April 2, 2008
Prayer needed for a friend of a friend
If you read this post anytime soon, please be in prayer for Tricia Lawrenson. She is undergoing a double lung transplant right now as I type!!!! You can visit their blog at www.cfhusband.blogspot.com.
I know of this family through my friend Patience. Tricia has cystic fibrosis and had a child at 24 weeks. Baby Gwenyth is doing great and Tricia was waiting for the transplant since before she got pregnant. Now it is finally happening for them! Their story is amazing~ take some time to read up on it.
I know of this family through my friend Patience. Tricia has cystic fibrosis and had a child at 24 weeks. Baby Gwenyth is doing great and Tricia was waiting for the transplant since before she got pregnant. Now it is finally happening for them! Their story is amazing~ take some time to read up on it.
Biggest Pregnancy Pet Peeve
Okay, I have decided my biggest pregnancy pet peeve. And it has nothing to do with being fat, swollen or clumsy, not being able to breath, sleep lying down, or drive comfortably. No- my pet peeve is when you lie down on the exam table and after the doc checks you and says, okay you can get up and he/she turns his back on you to chart. NO ONE HELPS THE FAT PREGNANT GIRL SIT UP!!! Do you realize how hard it is to sit up from a lying position without some assistance? It's not like you can roll over and sit up- you'll roll off the table! I have this large basketball/watermelon belly that DOES NOT fold or crunch, and you expect me just to sit up?
So....if you are an OB, know an OB or want to become an OB..... TAKE THIS ADVICE- help the poor preggy mamas sit up!!!
So....if you are an OB, know an OB or want to become an OB..... TAKE THIS ADVICE- help the poor preggy mamas sit up!!!
37 weeks
Went in for my appt. this afternoon. Emma Grace's heartbeat is still good, my bp was good. Doc talked to me about procedures for when I go into labor or my water breaks. But here's the kicker- she looks at my chart and says, you gained 5 lbs. this week?? I was like what? I almost fell off the exam table. Then I pulled up my pant leg and she says, oh- you're retaining a lot of fluid. Most of your weight gain is fluid. But still....5lbs in one week?! She said she'd only be concerned if my bp was too high, but it's not.
I'm not having fun anymore.......
I'm not having fun anymore.......
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
